Otter Mound and the surrounding property was a home site for early settlers who worked in the Marco Island clamming industry near the Caxambas Village. The “mound” on which Otter Mound Preserve sits was constructed by the Calusa native inhabitants from oyster, clam, lightning whelk, and other shellfish species, and dates back between 700 AD and 1200 AD.
The preserve is named for a previous resident, Ernest Otter, a one-time owner who had occupied the property until 1997. Otter is credited for the unique whelk shell terraces that define the preserves signature man-made feature.
This 2.45 acre preserve is located in a residential area of Marco Island, locally known as the Indian Hills section.